$50 Smartboard

I’ve always been interested in interactive whiteboards (aka Smartboards) but they always seemed a little unattainable at a cost of several thousand dollars. When I saw the TED Talk about $50 Smartboards created from a Nintendo Wii controller (a Wiimote), I was intrigued.

Peter (our indispensable ESL Tech Support guru) and I hacked together the infrared pen from Radio Shack parts and borrowed a Wiimote (thanks, Rob!) to get it together. Some of my notes are on my website.

Initial results are a bit shaky, but look for a full report here soon about how it works and how it can be used in the classroom.

Leave a comment

Filed under Projects

Leave a Reply

