Top 5 Subscriptions for Edupunks

I’ve been thinking about this post for a while.  Here are the top 5 magazine subscriptions I recommend for other edupunks:

I've pulled the engine out.  Now what?

I've pulled the engine out. Now what?

  1. Make – Lots of challenging how-tos on a wide variety of topis (optics, music, etc.)
  2. Wired – A comprehensive view of the tech landscape
  3. Car Craft – DIY hot rodding
  4. Family Handyman – Great illustrations of useful home projects
  5. Brew Your Own – Tips for making great brew

So, why did I post this list now?  Probably because I spent the last 2 days in my garage pulling the 320 cubic inch V8 engine out of my 1955 Packard Clipper Deluxe.  I bought the car on eBay a couple of years ago and finally tore into it.  I’ve always considered myself a car guy, but never had a car to wrench on.  To be honest, I don’t know what I’m doing.  But, I believe that one of the best ways to learn is to do.  So, I am.

I enjoy DIY projects in and out of the classroom (interactive whiteboards, clickers, etc.).  And what better way to spend Spring Break than by getting out of my comfort zone and learning something new.  I often ask my students to do this with when they are learning English, and putting myself in their shoes gives me some good insight.  There have been moments over the last couple of days when I held an unidentifiable part in my greasy hands and, despite my ignorance and fear of not being able to put it back, I had to keep pushing ahead on my project.  Can I motivate my students to do the same?

Maybe your list of magazines is different.  But I hope you find what you need to inspire and challenge yourself and your students.

2 Comments

Filed under Inspiration

2 responses to “Top 5 Subscriptions for Edupunks

  1. Nice list, Chris – I completely agree with Wired (subscriber since October ’98). Make is one I haven’t had the courage to subscribe to yet (don’t have time). The others aren’t my cup of tea, but I’ll have to think about what I’d offer to replace them.

  2. I know the other 3 are very discipline-specific, so I’d be curious to see more examples from other disciplines. I’d really recommend Make, though. You would love it. If I could only keep one, that would be it.

Leave a Reply

